I’m not one of those people who can’t live without my daily Starbucks fix, but we were fresh out of coffee at work this morning. And being somewhat addicted to caffeine, I needed some java to snap me out of my Monday morning coma. No big deal, I thought, and grabbed a handful of change out of my desk drawer and walked down to Starbucks. 

The patio outside seemed awfully quiet, and when I gave the door handle a pull . . . nothing. My friendly neighborhood Starbucks was closed for renovations. As I lingered outside the locked door to ponder my options, a small group of people passed by on the sidewalk. One of them was a young blonde gal, about five feet tall and wearing what must have been five-inch heels, and I couldn’t help but notice her DD’s.  

Uh-huh, you know what I’m talking about . . .

Dunkin Donuts. There was a store right across the street, but I’d never been there. I’d heard so many people rave about it, and read stories about how DD’s and McD’s are both stealing market share from Starbucks. “Just as good as Starbucks, only way cheaper,” or so I’ve been told. I was skeptical. The same claim had been made about McDonald’s coffee, and I was hugely disappointed. But, with limited options, I figured I’d give it a shot.

First, let me dispell the myth about DD’s being way cheaper. At $1.49 for a 14-oz cup, I found the difference in price to be negligible – about two cents per ounce. And the taste test? BLAAAACH.

Allow me to clarify. Unlike McD’s, the coffee wasn’t wimpy and watered down. It had plenty of punch, it was just a nasty punch. I was reminded of the coffee that you get in your hotel room – those tiny little packets that go with those tiny little coffee makers. The flavor isn’t very good, but if you’re desperate, it’ s better than nothing. DD’s was more like taking two or three of those packets and brewing the same pot of coffee. Still bad, only more so.

All of this makes me wonder, if DD’s and McD’s are faring so well against Starbucks in blind taste tests, who’s doing the tasting? Probably the same folks who like Velveeta on their hot dogs.

